Presenting The Richmond Sound: 2018-2023

 In News

In honor of our fifth anniversary this month, The Auricular has curated a special 150-song compilation entitled The Richmond Sound: 2018-2023, released on a limited-edition cassette tape USB within a jewel case. This release covers the extent of Richmond music with songs from local musicians of all types: hip-hop, punk, country, R&B, rock, pop, funk, metal, soul, blues, electronica, grindcore, emo, garage, ambient, experimental, alternative, screamo, house, shoegaze, vaporwave, drone, hardcore, and more.

This compilation will not be available for sale but will be passed out free to attendees at The Auricular‘s 5th Anniversary Celebration on Saturday, September 23rd at Richmond Music Hall (event information available at this link). The ultimate goal is for this incredible collection of talent to serve as a guide for Richmond’s vibrant music scene. Hopefully, it will help listeners discover new musicians in the area, both right now and in the future. This local anthology will only be available as a cassette tape USB so make sure to stop by Richmond Music Hall on September 23rd in order to receive a copy.

The Richmond Sound is broken up into six sections for the corresponding years that The Auricular has covered thus far, with 25 songs allocated for each year. The following is the list of artists included in the compilation:

Abby Huston, Alfred., Always Other, Andrew Rohlk, Angelica Garcia, Anna Leonard, Ant The Symbol, Apostles Of Eris, Armagideon Time, Asylum 213, Bakari Kennedy, Benet, Benjamin Shepherd, Bien, Big B, Big Fundamental, Big Sty, Black Liquid, Blush Face, Book Of Wyrms, Broken Glowsticks, Cadillac CAT, Calvin Presents, Carbon Leaf, Caro, Cassidy Snider, Catie Lausten, Chance Fischer, Chris Mattison, Chroma Forma, Cole Hicks, Colin Phils, cybercrashers, Dead Billionaires, Deau Eyes, Deore, Destructo Disk, Digital Hell x Ducttape Jesus, Downhaul, Drook, Dumb Waiter, Dyfferant, Eliturite, (Eli)zabeth Owens, Emily Horton, Erin & The Wildfire, Errol Bateman, Ethel Scout, The Fan, Fight Cloud, Flight Club, FLKL, FM Skyline, Followship, Frames, Gary Luong, .gif from god, Glossing, Gnawing, Gumming, Haircut, Henny LO x ohbliv, Holy River, Hotspit, Illa Styles, Indira & Guppy Jo, Jewell Booker, Johnny Ciggs, Junnie Mac, Justin Golden, Kailey Conner, Keep, Kenneka Cook, Kristeva, Landon Elliott, LIL STIXXX, Lobby Boy, Loud Night, Mackenzie Roark, Madison Turner, Magnus Lush, Margox, McKinley Dixon, Michael Millions, Midlife Pilot, missangelbird, The Mitras, Ms. Jaylin Brown, Museum District, No BS!, No Moniker, Noah-O x Big No, Opin, Ostraca, P.T., Paint On It, Peter $un, Piranha Rama, PJ Sykes, Prabir Trio, Qing Richy, R.O.T.W.L.C.F.T.S.C.B.M.H., Radio B, Rah Scrilla, Railgun, Rebekah Rafferty & The Wakes, Reppa Ton, Rikki Rakki, Rine, Ro$$etti, Rough Age, Ryan Irby, Saw Black, Sea Of Storms, Shadow Age, Silhouettes Vs. The Sun, Sincerely, Iris, Skinny V, Skinnyy Hendrixx, Spacebomb House Band, Spooky Cool, Starr Nyce, Strawberry Moon, Steelboy, Sun V Set, Switchsystems, Talk Me Off, Ten Pound Snail, Tennishu, Terror Cell, Tiara & Andrew, Timothy Bailey, Trapcry, Trey Burnart Hall, TVLPA, Twin Drugs, Ty Sorrell, Tyler Meacham, Unmaker, VonnBoyd, VV, Warrington, White Beast, Whitney & The Saying Goes, WKNDR, Wrong Worshippers, Young Flexico, Young Scum, 3:33, & 3wayslim.

For more information on this unique release, please reach out to The Auricular by e-mailing contact AT theauricular DOT com.


Start typing and press Enter to search